27 January 2020

Outstanding staff make outstanding winners!

Staff Awards Dominic

A night of celebration, recognition and appreciation - that was the aim of the Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership (AWP) NHS Trust's annual staff awards.

Around 200 members of staff were invited to the event on Friday 24th January in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the care, support and treatment they provide to people with mental health conditions across Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon, Wiltshire, Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire.

The event, which took place at the Apex City of Bath Hotel, saw 12 awards handed out in a range of categories including clinical excellence, compassionate care, research, innovation and improvement, and learner of the year.

There were also Long Service Awards for 28 members of staff who have provided 30 years' service to the NHS.

Charlotte Hitchings, Chair of AWP, said: "The AWP Staff Awards are now in their 10th year. It was inspiring to see the continued excellence and outstanding care the staff provide to patients and the support they give to families and carers. I would like to congratulate all of those nominated for their outstanding work and thank all our staff for their hard work and compassion."

Dominic Hardisty, AWP Chief Executive, said: "Our staff work incredibly hard so it is important to recognise and commend them for their work. It was fantastic to hear about their achievements and I am proud to be leading an organisation where staff demonstrate such strong commitment and dedication to their patients, families and carers. Well done to all those nominated and of course the winners."

Mental Health Nurse, Kevin Stott was presented with the Headlight Champion Award, in recognition of the support he has provided to AWP's official charity Headlight. In 2019 Kevin trekked across the Arctic to raise money for the charity, which funds activities and equipment to enhance the care provided by the Trust.

This year's winners are:




Behind the Scenes

Contracting and Procurement Team

Corporate - Finance

Clinical Excellencve

James McIntyre


Compassionate Care

Specialised Mother and Baby Unit


Everyday Excellence

Stuart Hammond

Corporate - Estates and Facilities Management

Everyday Excellence

Frances O'Hara


Headlight Champion

Kevin Stott


Leading by Example

Kristina Rees


Learner of the Year

Gabriele Straw

Corporate - Pharmacy

Lifetime Achievement

Caroline Preston


Patient Safety

South Glos Recovery South

South Glos

Recovery and Hope

Harry Walker

BANES - Co-production & Involvement Worker

Research, Innovation and Improvement

Swindon Community Intensive Team


Team of the Year

Amblescroft South Ward


Cookies on our website

Cookies are used to ensure you get the best browsing experience. No personally identifiable information is collected.
By using our site you agree to these cookies being used. For more information please see our Cookie Policy.