Your clinical team will talk to you to decide upon the best way to interact during your treatment. Together, you may decide that video consultation is the best way to carry out some or all of your treatment.
Video consultations allow you to see a member of your care team from the comfort of your own home using a digital platform.
AWP has partnered with a digital health company called Mayden which is providing the video consultation system for us to communicate with you as our service user.
You will receive a text message or email (depending upon your communication preferences) when a video consultation appointment is made and you will receive a reminder before your appointment. All you need to do is click on the link to join your video consultation.
How do video consultations work?
We will send you a text message or email with details of your video appointment, including the date and time.
Follow the link in your message to login and view details of your appointment and add it to your personal calendar.
Check you have what you need for your video consultation
You will need a:
- Good connection to the internet. We recommend using Wi-Fi where possible which may have a better connection and will not use your mobile data allowance.
- Quiet, well-lit room where you will not be disturbed. If you are by a bright light, like a window, sit so the light is on your face not behind you.
- Table or surface to prop your device on, so your camera stays steady during the call.
Please note that Google Chrome provides the best experience and all modern browser versions are supported. However, two legacy browsers Windows Internet Explorer 11 and Windows Edge (Legacy) are not supported. The latest Edge version (Chromium) is compatible with the software. Microsoft Edge is installed by default with Windows 10 which is used by 84% of Windows users in the UK and can be downloaded for other Windows versions.
1-2 hours before your appointment, we will send you a text message with a secure link to your video consultation.
Click this link a few minutes before your appointment to enter the consultation space, either via your computer or mobile device.
Please join a few minutes before your appointment so that you can test your audio and video are working. When you click on the unique video link, you will be directed to a welcome page. This contains information provided by the services using this technology. Please use the ‘launch in web’ option, rather than the mobile app. We do not provide the app so we cannot guarantee the security of it.
If you are having any trouble, please see our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) section below.
The video session view
Once started, the session screen provides audio and video controls:
In the top right hand corner, information on connection quality is available to help you to understand and troubleshoot any issues e.g. if broadband quality is low and the session needs to move to telephone.
When selected, the menu in the bottom right hand corner includes some additional features like video quality adjustment, the option to blur your background, and sharing YouTube videos. The name of your clinician will be visible to you if you hover over the thumbnail of the therapist.
There is a typed chat function and attendees can share their screen via the buttons in the bottom left hand corner of the screen.
What if the appointment overruns?
Don’t worry if the appointment lasts longer than was originally scheduled; neither the patient or the therapist will be forced out of the video session, enabling for a natural conclusion of the appointment when both parties are ready.
Can the video session link be accessed outside of the appointment time?
Access to the video session link is restricted to the day of the appointment. If either party attempts to join a video session for a previous or upcoming day, access will be denied. The patient or clinician can join the video session any time before its scheduled start time on the day of the appointment.
Can I use this feature for group therapy?
Currently, this feature is only available for one to one therapy. If you are expected to join a group therapy session, you will receive a Microsoft Teams invite.
Can multiple clinicians participate in a video session?
Yes, anyone with access to the clinical contact in IAPTUS can click the 'Start Video Session' link and join the appointment alongside the session clinician. Please bear in mind that this could result in a reduction in quality as the connection will cease to be peer-to-peer.
How do I end the video session?
When participating in a video session three icons will be visible at the bottom of the screen. Click the red telephone icon to end the video session.
Can I share documents during a video session?
Document sharing is not currently available within this feature, but it is possible to share your screen and to share links via the integrated chat function.
Is there a video recording facility?
It is not possible for sessions to be recorded via the video session itself. However, as with any video software, it is possible to record utilising third party software or additional devices. Your clinician will take clinical notes during the appointment and store them on their electronic record on IAPTUS, as is the usual procedure for non-remote appointments.
How secure is the connection?
Video meetings are conducted in the first instance as Peer-to-Peer (P2P) for one to one meetings. In this case, audio and video are encrypted all the way from the sender to the receiver.
How is my data handled?
It is the responsibility of the Primary Care Psychology Service and Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services to ensure that agreements for use, data sharing and privacy policies between the service and you as the service user exist as required under relevant Data Protection law. You should have consented to take part in a video session as part of therapy delivery. The NHS has released advice regarding consent around the use of video sessions. They advise that 'the consent of the patient or service user is implied by them accepting the invite and entering the consultation. But you should safeguard personal/confidential patient information in the same way you would with any other consultation.'