Publish date: 26 May 2023

Friday 19 May saw Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership (AWP) NHS Trust hold their annual awards event, celebrating the exceptional work undertaken by our staff over the last 12 months.

Staff were invited to attend a special event to recognise those who have gone above and beyond for their patients, demonstrating the fantastic dedication and commitment of those working to support people with serious mental illness across Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon, Wiltshire, Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire.

Throughout the evening 14 awards were handed out in categories including compassionate care, team of the year, making a difference and rising star.

Dominic Hardisty, Chief Executive of Avon and Wiltshire Mental Health Partnership (AWP) NHS Trust, said: "It has been such a difficult and challenging time for many of us, not least those working in the NHS and those in need of our care and support. The AWP Annual Awards is about recognising how hard our staff work to support each other, our patients, families and carers. Well done to all those who were nominated and, of course, all our winners!"

Nominations for this year's awards were received from staff, patients, service users, families and carers.

This year's winners are:

​Award Category


​Learner of the Year

​Morgan Baxendale

​Making a Difference - Clinical

​Kate Chard

​​Making a Difference - Corporate and Non-Clinical

​Rachel Knowles

​Making a Difference - Estates and Facilities

​Kamilla Pawlikowska

​Quality Improvement, Innovation and Co-Production

​Amy Canning

​Rising Star

​Phillip Rhodes

​Team of the Year

​Hope Service

​Bank employee of the Year

​Debbie Davies

​Compassionate Care - Clinical

​Joanne Newman

​Compassionate Care - Corporate and Non-Clinical

​Patient Safety Team

​Compassionate Care - Estates and Facilities

​Chloe Kirby

​Empowering and Inclusive Practice

​Daniel Hodgson

​Involvee of the Year

​Ben Argo

​Leader of the Year

​Michelle Blacker